By default, only YOU can edit media you own. Even once published to a class, by default, no other instructors can edit your content. However, in some cases, you may want your class-published items to be edited by another section instructor or a teaching assistant. In this case, if you are an instructor for a section, you can enable the ability for all media published to a section to be editable by any other instructor or teaching assistant also assigned to the section. This capability is disabled by default.
Enabling this feature applies to all class media across the course, and applies to all instructors and teaching assistants, including YOU. Meaning you will also be able to edit media published (and owned) by other instructors. You can always edit your own media.
If an instructor or teaching assistant selects to edit a piece of media that they do not own (does not appear in their EchoVideo library), a message appears noting this and asking to confirm that they want to proceed.
WARNING about cross-published content: Whenever an item is edited, the changes apply to ALL PUBLISHED VERSIONS of it. This is also noted in the warning message shown when selecting to edit class media.
For example: You teach two different sections of the same course and you publish the same presentation to classes in both sections. If another instructor or a teaching assistant edits that presentation in ONE of the sections, those changes will appear in the other section.
If this option is dimmed and you cannot change it, it means your administrator has it set at a higher level (organization, department, or institution) and with overrides disallowed for any lower levels. If you think you should be able to change the setting for your section, contact your administrator.
To enable course media editing
- Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
- Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the above figure.
- Toggle the Allow Course Media Editing switch on (it is disabled by default unless enabled for the institution at the administrative level).
- Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.
Edit commands, including Edit Media, Edit Details, and Edit Transcript will now appear in the content icon menu for class media for all instructors and teaching assistants assigned to this section.