If you have the Simplified One-Click Course Provisioning turned on for your LMS, this article will NOT apply to you, as the manual unlinking is disabled if the LMS created the linked EchoVideo course and section.
After you have links from your LMS course into an EchoVideo section, you may find that you need to remove the link/association between them. Deleting the link from the LMS course does not remove the association between the LMS course and the EchoVideo section or class; it simply removes the link.
For example, you may create a link from the LMS course to a particular class in the EchoVideo section but later realize that wasn't the class you wanted. You can reset that link, and then link to a different class instead.
Use either the Reset LMS Link or Unlink LMS Course button, located at the top of the class list and identified in the below figure, to remove linking and associations between the LMS course and your EchoVideo section.
Reset LMS Link: Resets or unmaps ONLY the LMS link you followed into this EchoVideo section or class. No other LMS course links into this section are affected. This allows you to remove the link from the LMS or change where it takes students, without affecting any other links into EchoVideo from this LMS course.
If you are resetting a link to the main section class list page, simply follow the link into Echo, then click Reset LMS Link. The page you see then will let you map that LMS course link to a different EchoVideo location (section or class in a section). You don't have to remap the link; you can just remove it from the LMS course.
If resetting a link into a Classroom:
- Follow the link from the LMS course into the EchoVideo section class.
- Click the section name in the top right corner of the classroom to exit the class. This opens the class list to access the buttons shown above.
- Select Reset LMS Link.
The page you see then is the mapping page, allowing you to re-map this link if you want to.
Unlink LMS Course: Resets or unmaps ALL LINKS between the LMS Course you entered from and THIS EchoVideo section. Links from the LMS course to other EchoVideo sections, and links from other LMS courses into this EchoVideo section are not affected.
If you have multiple links into this EchoVideo section (for example, one to the main section class list, and several others to specific classes), clicking the Unlink LMS Course button resets all of those links, requiring them to be re-mapped if you want to reuse them, or you can delete them entirely from the LMS Course.
Is this confusing? Maybe this picture will help. It is a Canvas Course that links into two different EchoVideo sections: Shenanigoats 002 and Shenanigoats 001. There are also links into specific classes in each of the sections.
If an instructor (or admin) clicks through the Link to Class #3 into the Echo classroom (which is a class in the EchoVideo Shenanigoats 002 section), then uses the Reset LMS Link button, ONLY that "Link to Class #3" in the Canvas Course is affected. It is no longer mapped to the EchoVideo section or the class therein. All other links into that Echo section remain as they were.
If an instructor (or admin) clicks through the Link to Shenanigoats 001 into the EchoVideo section class list page, then uses the Unlink LMS Course button, BOTH the Link to Shenanigoats 001 and the Link to 001 Class shown in the above figure are unmapped. Those links and this LMS course in its entirety are NO LONGER associated with the EchoVideo Section "Shenanigoats 001". However, the association with Shenanigoats 002 (the other linked Echo section) is entirely unaffected and those links remain as they were.
Yes, those are ridiculous names, but sometimes ridiculous names are fun. And I hope this explanation helps.