How can we help?

My Cases

Enable or Disable Copying of Shared Content
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2019 03:40PM EDT

This article applies to:  Echo360 Admins

Echo360 users can view published content within a section, or share content with other users. However, the functionality available for shared content is minimal (view, remove, and download if enabled). Admins can now enable or disable the ability for users to create copies of content that has been shared with them.

Shared content appears in the Shared with me tab of the user's Content Home page.

When a user creates a copy, the user who initiated the copy is the owner of the copy, and the item copy appears in the My Content tab of their Content Home page. 

Review Public Links feature setting: If users are allowed to copy content from the Shared with me tab, they are now the owners of the copy they generate, which therefore appears in their My Content home. This means that if both shared content copying and public links are enabled, users could generate a copy of shared content, then generate a fully public link to that content. Just be sure to review your institution's policies and configure both of these toggle settings for users as appropriate. 

The Copy shared content feature setting applies to both shared Capture/Video media and Presentations, and will apply to all users across the institution (it is not configurable at Org/Dept levels).

Copy Shared Content option of Institution Features as described

Use the toggle to allow or restrict instructors, teaching assistants, and students from copying shared content (whereas they become the owner of the copy).

To enable/disable copying of shared content

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
    The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
  4. On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
  5. Under the Content Creation and Management section  of the page, enable or disable the Copy shared content toggle, as shown above.
  6. Review the confirmation message that appears, and click Yes if appropriate.

The Copy shared content functionality is now set and will apply across all users in the institution.

c9f5f1d87ac29bd0c146e9565da3c739@echo360.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete