How can we help?

My Cases

Uploading/Deleting Closed Captioning Files
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2019 11:58AM EDT

This article applies to:  Echo360 Instructors

Some institutions generate their own closed captioning files and Echo360 allows those institutions to upload those manually generated file to captures. Both instructors and administrators can upload captioning files to videos.

For tips and instructions on how to generate your own closed caption files, see the following online articles:
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/WebVTT_API or
http://www.3playmedia.com/2017/03/08/create-srt-file/

Instructors are also able to delete captions from a video if necessary.

Adding captions to a capture or video

Instructors can upload a captions file to be applied to a capture or video from their library. Instructors for a section can also add captions to captures/video media they do not own but which has been published to the section by selecting Details from the content menu in the class list.

This can be done to add captions to the video or to replace the existing captions on the media. If the capture already has a captioning file associated with it, uploading a new file replaces the existing captions with the new file's contents.

Only .VTT and .SRT file types are accepted as valid caption uploads.

To add closed captioning files to a capture

  1. Click on the tile of a video in your Content Home to open the media details page.
  2. Scroll down below the playback panel, and on the right side find the Captions entry identified in the figure below.
    capture details page for completed capture with captions options shown as described
     
  3. Click the chevron to the right of either Yes or Add (depending on whether the capture already has captions or not) and select Upload from the drop-down list.
  4. In the Filepicker window that appears, navigate to and select the closed captioning file to apply to this capture. Only .VTT and .SRT file types are accepted at this time.

Once the file is uploaded, it is applied to and synced with the capture video. This processing should take a very brief period of time. You will need to refresh the content details page in order to see the captions applied to the video.

NOTE that if a user edits the video, the captioning file may need to be re-done and re-uploaded for application to the edited video.

Deleting captions from a capture or video

Instructors can remove the captions from a video that has them. This may be necessary if there is a problem with the existing closed captioning file and you do not yet have a valid file to apply to the media.

Deleting captions from a video is permanent and cannot be undone. BEST PRACTICE: Click the captions.vtt file link from the Processed Files list, and download the current captions file prior to deleting from the video. This provides you with a copy of them to edit and upload later if necessary.

IMPORTANT: If the Delay video availability option is enabled (either at the section level specifically, or as forced down from a higher level), removing captions from the video will make that media unavailable to students until captions are re-applied. As the instructor, you will see the video in your class list but students cannot see it and therefore cannot view it until it is captioned again.

To delete closed captioning files from a capture

  1. Click on the tile of a video in your Content Home to open the media details page.
  2. Scroll down below the playback panel, and on the right side find the Captions entry identified in the figure below.
  3. Click the chevron to the right of Yes and select Delete from the drop-down list.
  4. Review the information in the warning dialog box. If appropriate to do so, click CONTINUE.
  5. The captions file is removed from the media.
c9f5f1d87ac29bd0c146e9565da3c739@echo360.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete?b_id=16610