How can we help?

My Cases

Creating Copies of Media
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2019 11:23AM EDT

This article applies to:  Echo360 Students

You may not be able to select Copy option. If your administrator has disabled the ability to create copies, you will see but will not be able to select the Make A Copy option. Furthermore, there may be some items you can create copies of and not others, based on institutional, organization, or even course-level settings in the system.

If all you want is a copy of an existing capture/video or presentation, use the Create Copy feature. It is available for all content you own; it may be available for Shared content; it may also be available from the Class List page (click a media icon and see if Create Copy appears in the menu).

Creating a copy of media creates a copy that YOU OWN and which appears in the Content lists on the Echo Home page with YOUR name on them. Creating copies of presentations generates an exact duplicate of the presentation, including Activity slides. Any analytics or publishing information associated with the original are of course not copied and the copy of the presentation will act just like a newly generated presentation file. Copies of videos are straightforward copies of the video file.

Copying can take some time for large files. The create copy feature simply makes a copy of the original, but generating this copy can take some time. While this is happening, the copy will appear to be in "processing" status, and you cannot view the copy until the copy process is complete. The new copy, once created, will appear in your library.

To create a copy of a piece of media

  1. Click the menu button on the media tile, select More Actions and then select Make a copy (if it is available) 
    Media tile with menu open containing make a copy command for steps as described

    OR 
  2. Click on the tile to open the media details page then click the copy option from below the playback panel.
    content details page for shared media with copy icon identified as described

After the copy has been generated, it appears in the My Content area of your Echo Home page and shows with YOUR name on the tile as the owner. Keep in mind that the copy is a completely different file than the original you copied. You may want to use the Edit details feature to rename the copy, which has a default name of "original_name (copy)".

After you create the copy, a search in All Content should return both items, the copy with your name on it (your copy) and the original with that owner's name on it (if you are copying your own media, both tiles will show your name). The figure below shows a copy made of a piece of Shared media. You may need to refresh the page to see the new copy.

All Content page showing the shared media and the copy of the share with owners identified as described

 

c9f5f1d87ac29bd0c146e9565da3c739@echo360.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete?b_id=16608