Echo360 students typically view published content by entering the classes within a section. The functionality available for course-published content is minimal (view in the class, and download if enabled). Admins can also enable the feature that allows students to make a copy of course-published content.
When a user creates a copy, the user who initiated the copy is the owner of the copy, and the content appears in the My Content tab of their Content Home. Content owners have more control and options for their content than simply viewing it. For Students, this would include editing it and sharing it with other users, as well as creating a public URL or embeddable link to a video.
Review Public Links feature setting: If users are allowed to copy content from the Class List page, they are now the owners of the copy they generate. This means that if both student content copying and public links are enabled, students could generate a copy of published content, then generate a fully public link to that content. Just be sure to review your institution's policies and configure both of these toggle settings for Students (and Instructors/Teaching Assistants) as appropriate.
The course content copy feature works for both Capture/Video media and Presentations. It can be set at the institution level, as well as at the Organization, Department, and Section levels if Overrides are allowed.
Best Practice: Disable the Student copy toggle if Student Library is disabled. Copies of content appear in the user's Library page. If the Student Library is disabled, they cannot access any copies they make. If the Student Library is disabled, Echo360 will not show the Create copy option for students. But we still suggest you disable this toggle and uncheck the Allow overrides box, to ensure that Instructors or lower-level Admins do not attempt to enable the feature expecting to allow students to copy media.
To enable/disable student copying of content
- Log in as an administrator.
- Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
- If necessary/appropriate, select an Organization or Department from the list on the left.
- On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Section Features.
- Scroll down to the Student Content Access section of the page, and enable/disable the Allow students to copy course content toggle, as shown in the above figure.
- Check or uncheck the Allow override checkbox to determine whether this setting can be changed at any of the lower levels (org/dept/section).
- Review any confirmation messages that appear, and click Yes if appropriate.
The student copying of course-published media functionality is now set. If you have checked the Allow override box, you can alter this setting at the organization or department level, and Instructors can alter the setting at the Section level.