Only Group owners can change group membership and privileges. This includes the ability to remove users from the group. Note however that group owners cannot remove other owners from the group. Only an Echo360 Institution-level Administrator can remove an owner from a group.
To remove members from a group
- If necessary, click the Echo360 icon in the top left corner of the Echo360 page, to access your home page.
- Click Groups on the left.
- Click on the Group tile to open the group you want to remove members from.
The group page opens, with the Content tab active by default.
- Click the Sharing & Members tab to activate it, as shown in the below figure.
- Scroll down to the list of current members of the group.
- Use the search box or sort option to find the group member(s) you want to remove.
- Click the X located on the right side of each user you want to remove from the group, as identified in the below figure.
The user is removed from the group as soon as you click the X. You will not receive any confirmation. If you remove someone inadvertently, you can re-add them to the group using the Share with text box.
NOTE: The checkboxes for users have no effect in user removal; users can only be removed from the group individually. Even if multiple users are checked, clicking the X next to a user removes ONLY that user from the group.
You CAN also click the X next to YOUR name to remove yourself from the group. This is the same as leaving the group. You will receive a notification about leaving the group and the need to have an owner or administrator add you back to the group if necessary. This is the same warning you would receive if you clicked Leave Group at the top of the group page.