How can we help?

My Cases

Publishing and Removing Media for a Course (Admins)
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2019 10:58AM EST

This article applies to:  Echo360 Admins

Captures created for sections are auto-published when they are scheduled.  However you may need to manually publish a capture to one or more sections/classes. Publishing information is located in the Share Settings area of the media details page, because the media is shared to one or more classes.

ALTERNATELY, you can copy the public link for a video and post it anywhere you like, to allow non-Echo360 users to view the media. This may be an option if publishing does not provide sufficient access.

"Publishing" simply means "putting the capture into a class so students and instructors can view it". You can add it to an existing class or create a new class to hold the media.

NOTE:  If you create a class to hold the media, note that class Date and Time are optional, but if there is no date, the class MUST have a name. In addition, classes with no date will appear at the bottom of the class list by default; users may have to scroll to see it and instructors may want to reorder their classes to put it into the proper location in the class list.

To publish a capture to a class

  1. From the Completed list on the CAPTURES page, find the capture you want.
  2. Click on the capture row to open the media details page.
  3. Scroll down to the Share Settings area of the page, to find the Classes section, identified in the below figure.
    Any locations where the capture has already been published appear in the list, including course, section, and class name. If you have rights to remove the capture from an existing section, you will also see an X icon.
    Media details page with Classes section of Share Settings identified and Add to Class button shown for steps as described
     
  4. Click Add To A Class. The Class Sharing modal appears, shown in the below figures.
  5. Use the course drop-down list at the top of the modal to select the course where you want to share this media.
  6. Use the term and section drop-down lists (which become active after selecting a course) to select the term and section where you want to share the media.
    Share to class modal with course, term, and section selections identified for steps as described
     
  7. Select whether you want to share this media to an Existing Class or create a New Class to hold this media. 
  8. For an Existing Class, use the drop-down list to select which class to share the media to.
    Share to class modal with existing class selected for sharing media to as described
     
  9. For a New Class, enter a Name and/or a Start Date and Start Time for the class, as well as a Duration.
    If typing in the field, Start Date can be entered in mm-dd-yyyy format or in yyyy-mm-dd format, depending on your regional settings; Start Time can be entered in 12-hour using the AM/PM button
    NOTE: Classes must have either a Name or a Date/Time/Duration and typically have both, but only one or the other is required. Description is optional.
    Share to class modal with new class selected and class details entered as described
     
  10. Click the Calendar icon to open the date-picker to populate the Start Date field if necessary.
    Share to New Class options selected with Date field active and Calendar date picker showing as described
     
  11. If necessary, change the Availability settings of the newly shared item. By default, the item will be available now (immediately) and unavailable never (available indefinitely). Leave this at the default or you can set availability as follows:
    • available now: Students can view the shared media as soon as you finish publishing it. This is the default
    • available never: The media is shared to the class but students cannot see it. This is the same as making availability manual (you must set the item to be available when you are ready).
    • available date: The media will be unavailable until midnight on the specified date, at which time students will be able to view the media.
    • unavailable never: The media is available to students and will continue to be unless this is changed. Along with 'available now', this is the default.
    • unavailable date: The media will become unavailable to students at midnight on the specified date.
       
  12. If setting Date-based availability, selecting the Date option activates the date field and the calendar icon for using the date picker. You must enter a date if this option is selected.
    Availability Date selected with date field and calendar icon shown as active as described
     
  13. When finished, scroll to the bottom of the Sharing modal and click Share
    NOTE: If the Share button is not active, review the fields in the modal and be sure you have completed all the necessary items.
  14. Repeat the above steps to share to a different course.

The content now appears for the selected (or created) class on the Class List page for the course. If you created a new class to hold the content and the class has no date, the new class appears at the bottom of the class list by default. The instructor or a teaching assistant can reorder the class list and change its location if necessary. 
 

Removing/Unpublishing Content from a Course

The media details page shows all the locations (course/section/class) where an item is currently published. You can remove this media from these classes if necessary

IMPORTANT: Unpublishing/Unsharing media from a class removes any student notes or bookmarks, as well as class Q&A and all student viewing analytics associated with the item. This information is not recoverable. If you want to retain this data but not allow students to view the media, consider making it unavailable instead. 

To remove (unpublish/unshare) content from a class

  1. From the Completed list on the CAPTURES page, find the capture you want.
  2. Click on the capture row to open the media details page.
  3. Scroll down to the Share Settings area of the page, to find the Classes section, identified in the below figure.
    Any locations where the capture has already been published appear in the list, including course, section, and class name. 
  4. Click the X located to the right of the course/class you want to remove this media from as shown below. 
    Share settings section of media details page with Classes area identified and X icon for unpubishing capture from the section shown for steps as described
     
  5. Click OK on the Warning message that appears.

When finished, the media no longer appears in the class/course from which it was removed. NOTE that if you do not see an X for the course to which this media is published, you may not have administrative rights to remove this media from that course/section. This is possible if your institution uses Delegated Administration and that section does not fall within the hierarchy to which you have access.
 

c9f5f1d87ac29bd0c146e9565da3c739@echo360.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete