How can we help?

My Cases

Managing Courses
Last Updated: Dec 20, 2017 03:41PM EST

This article applies to:  Echo360 Admins

Courses are instructional offerings typically offered by an organization or department. In any given term there may be multiple offerings of the same course, which are represented as sections.

Courses simply act as "containers" for one or more sections of a class.

Once a course is created, managing the course involves editing the course code or course name, changing the organization or department it is associated with, and deleting the course.

DELETING A COURSE DELETES ALL ASSOCIATED SECTIONS: All sections must be associated with a course; if you delete a course, you are also deleting all of the sections associated with that course.

To manage courses

  1. Select COURSES from the main navigation bar at the top of the page.
  2. Use the search box or filter drop-down lists to find the course you want to manage.
  3. Hover over or select the course to expose the action icons on the right of the row.
    Admin course list with action icons for a course identified
  4. Click the Edit icon (it looks like a pencil)
    The Edit Course dialog box appears.
    Edit course modal with options for steps as described
  5. From the Edit Course dialog box you can:
    • Edit the Course code
    • Edit the Course name
    • Edit the Organization and/or Department to which the course belongs.
      Use the drop-down lists to select a different Org/Dept (or select None).
      Use the Search box in the drop-downs to find a particular Org/Dept.
  6. Click SAVE when finished.

If you are a Scheduler in the system, you may only have access to certain organizations or departments in the system. This means you can only move courses into those organizations or departments. If you attempt to select an org/dept to which you are not authorized, you will receive an error.

To delete a course

DELETING A COURSE DELETES ALL ASSOCIATED SECTIONS: All sections must be associated with a course; if you delete a course, you are also deleting all of the sections associated with that course. And any captures scheduled for those sections will not occur.

  1. From the main menu, select COURSES.
  2. Use the search box or filter drop-down lists to find the course you want to manage.
  3. Hover over or select the course to expose the action icons on the right of the row (as shown in the figure above).
  4. Click the Delete icon (it looks like a trash can).
  5. CAREFULLY REVIEW THE WARNING MESSAGE that appears.
  6. To continue with deletion, click OK.
c9f5f1d87ac29bd0c146e9565da3c739@echo360.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete