Echo360 users can view published content within a section, or share content with other users. However, the functionality available for shared content is minimal (view, remove, and download if enabled) as it is with published content. Admins can now enable or disable the ability for users to create copies of content.
When a user creates a copy, the user who initiated the copy is the owner of the copy, and the content appears in their Library page. Owners and Admins can always copy content (from their Library or the Captures page respectively).
Review Public Links feature setting: If users are allowed to copy content from the Class List page, they are now the owners of the copy they generate, which therefore appears in their Library. This means that if both content copying and public links are enabled, users could generate a copy of published content, then generate a fully public link to that content. Just be sure to review your institution's policies and configure both of these toggle settings for Students and Instructors as appropriate.
The Copy feature works for both Capture/Video media and Presentations.
Use the toggles to allow or restrict instructors and/or students from copying shared or class-published content (whereas they become the owner of the copy).
The instructor and student toggle settings are available on the Features tab for Organizations and Departments (if overrides are allowed), and propagate down to the Section level settings page. The ability to copy Shared with me content is an institution-level setting only.
Best Practice: Disable the Student copy toggle if Student Library is disabled. Copies of content appear in the user's Library page. If the Student Library is disabled, they cannot access any copies they make. If the Student Library is disabled, Echo360 will not show the Create copy option for students. But we still suggest you disable this toggle and uncheck the Allow overrides box, to ensure that Instructors or lower-level Admins do not attempt to enable the feature expecting to allow students to copy media.
To enable/disable copying of content
- Log in as an administrator.
- Click the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- From the Settings menu, select Institution Settings.
The Institution appears at the top of the list and is selected by default.
- On the right side of the Institution Settings page, click Features.
- Under Features, enable or disable toggles for copying media. They function as follows:
- Allow instructors to copy course content - This allows instructors in a section to create copies of media that has been published to the course but that they do not own. The instructor will own the copy and it will appear in their Library page.
- Allow students to copy course content - This allows students in a section to create copies of media that have been published to the course. The student will own the copy and it will appear in their Library page.
If the Student Library is disabled, you should toggle this option off and uncheck Allow overrides. See Best Practice note above for details.
- Copy shared content - This allows users to create copies of content that has been shared with them by another user. The function is available in the Shared with me tab of the Library page. The user will own the copy and it will appear in the My Content tab of their Library page.
- Check or uncheck the Allow override checkbox(es) to determine whether the instructors and/or student copy toggle setting(s) can be changed at any of the lower levels (org/dept/section).
- Review all confirmation messages that appear, and click Yes if appropriate.
The Create copy functionality is now set. If you have checked the Allow override box for instructor and/or student copying, you can alter those settings at the organization or department level, and Instructors can alter the setting at the Section level.